Another year older

“The secret of staying young is to live honestly, eat slowly, and lie about your age” – Lucille Ball

Birthdays,  now where do I start? I have a love-hate relationship with birthdays especially after the last few years. If we were to rewind back a few years you would find me counting down at least two months before my birthday with a face full of excitement, making plans for dinner and nights out with friends and family on the big day. Since I went to University my friendship group went our separate ways and I had new friends, Uni friends. When I got to my final year of University birthdays weren’t so exciting…I was living in a flat with 5 other people I didn’t really know, my Uni friends were all living separately and nobody seemed to be free around the time of my birthday as it was exam season. The best way to describe my birthday was a fail.

Now I have graduated and I am living in the town where I studied – as most of my friends moved back to their home towns after graduation it’s pretty much just me, my boyfriend and a few others left behind. This year for my 23rd birthday I kinda stopped caring, I didn’t count down the days, I didn’t ask for anything in particular and I didn’t try to arrange a big get together with friends. I just booked a few days off of work and wished for a few days of quality time with my  family and boyfriend. I also really wanted to go to London for the day as I used to do this so frequently when I lived with my parents. So a month or so before my birthday I made the trip back to my hometown and travelled up to London for the day with my mum – we had the best day.

We decided to get the coach up as it meant that we could both relax and neither of us had to drive. When we got there we decided to go straight to Westfield as I have been trying to track down a certain Michael Kors watch for the last few years (it was supposed to be a present for my 21st from my parents but I could never find the one I wanted – I’m now 23). As we got there there was a premier going on for Avengers Age of Ultron, so there were people everywhere – even though the event wasn’t for another 8 hours!

IMG_0505 IMG_0510

IMG_0812We found a Michael Kors shop and I found the most beautiful watch, and yes I bought it! Gold hardware with a white  skinny leather strap and golden glitter on the  face of the watch – who could say no to that? At £225.00 it was a bit out of my budget but it was just too beautiful to leave behind.

http://www.michaelkors.com/slim-runway-gold-tone-leather-watch/_/R-US_MK2389?No=56&color=0710 

We then went and explored the rest of London, even though I have been here hundreds of times before it’s always good fun to be a tourist for the day. We went to Wagamama for lunch (both of our favourite) and found many Shaun the Sheep statues around London, we went to both Westfield Malls, and even took a look at the Olympic Park.

IMG_0513 IMG_0517

                  IMG_0356 IMG_0542

 IMG_0519 IMG_0524

IMG_0533

I had the best day celebrating my birthday just my mum and I, although I love living away from home, days like this are even more special.

                               IMG_0546  IMG_0530

IMG_0362

I was extremely lucky this year and I also got well and truly spoilt by my family and William (my boyfriend), he took me to a manor house and pulled out all the stops! To find out more about that surprise then click here.

Love, Luce ♥

Leave a Reply

