Past or Present – Family comes First

“Just because you can’t see your angels, doesn’t mean they aren’t there” – Unknown.

Christmas is known by most as a time for family and spending time with your loved ones. Well, a few years back the dimensions of my family changed quite suddenly. In August 2011 when I was traveling abroad I suddenly lost my grandad, the first family member that I had ever lost, then just eight months later in my first year at University my nan suddenly passed away, to say I was heartbroken is an understatement.

I try to visit their burial grounds as often as I can, but living three hours away makes this difficult. I have always taken my Nan pink roses, her favourite. We put them in with her coffin at her funeral and every time I have visited her since I have continued this tradition. My grandad’s ashes were scattered around a big oak tree in a special garden.

Every year on Christmas Eve we go and visit both my Nanny and Grandad at their burial grounds. We always take a wreath and pink roses to my Nanny and we always tie red ribbon bows on the tree where we scattered my Grandad’s ashes.

For the last five years, I have always put my bow as high as I can in the tree – to the point where I literally climb on my dad’s shoulders to be able to climb the tree. (The best thing about this is no-one can reach it to remove my bow – every year when we return everyone else’s bows have been removed yet mine is still always there).

Below are some pictures from this year’s visit, this year was Archie’s first time with the tradition and I think he secretly really enjoyed spending time with his Great-Grandparents.

Nanny’s Grave

img_2004img_2009img_2012img_2010img_2015

Grandad’s Tree

img_2043img_2037img_2021img_2027img_2025img_2031

This is a very personal post to me so I hope you enjoyed being a part of our special day, Merry Christmas!

Love, Luce ♥

Leave a Reply

