1000 Steps, Kokoda Memorial Trail // Melbourne, Australia.

“One’s destination is never a place, but a new way of seeing things” – Henry Miller

Kokoda Memorial Walk…never heard of it? No, neither had I. Turns out it’s a really beautiful rainforest walk through the Dandenong Ranges National Park. As you march your way up the 1000 step climb you are faced with plaques which feed you with information of those whom fought and died on the trail during the Kokoda campaign back in 1942.

23.jpgAlthough I still don’t know much about the Kokoda Track Campaign it’s a really fascinating walk with so much history built into it. I already want to go back to read all the plaques around the trail.

My best friend Jen and I decided to do this climb on a slightly overcast, rainy day. I definitely wouldn’t advise doing this on a hot day…unless you want to die of heat exhaustion, or have to constantly stop to sweat it out.

221.jpg

The whole track is literally surrounded by beautiful green fern, manna gum, and blackwood trees. Although you will cross paths with many people along the way, the whole environment is so peaceful and calming. You can hear birds tweeting to one another, and rivers flowing throughout the whole of the rainforest.

810

Although there are a lot of steps; 1000 to be exact…although I didn’t count them to be sure (I wish I did)…you get to a point where you forget you’re climbing steps. You’re just so in awe of your surroundings and taking in everything around you that you are just placing one foot in front of the other and climbing…without even noticing how much exercise you are doing. Pretty great huh?

36

Walks like this are pretty great to do with your best friend. Jen and I just chatted and giggled through the entire walk and before you know it you’re at the top. It must have taken us around 30-40 minutes to get to the top (stopping for multiple photo opportunities along the way of course).

425

Does anyone else hate asking others to take a photo of you? I mean it’s never going to be quite right. It’s never going to be as good as if you just took it yourself. You know exactly what you want and there’s always that risk of the other person getting it wrong. But let’s be honest, when they ask if it’s okay, you always say YES…right?

2611

Thankfully I had Jen with me, and my trustee JOBY Tripod so we got some pretty great shots along the way! Believe it or not but you can set up your own photo shoot where ever you are. Believe me (I wish I took a photo of this now), I wrapped the straps of my backpack around the top of a wooden stump, attached the legs of my JOBY Tripod to the backpack and then put on the self timer…bob’s your uncle, fanny’s your aunt…you’re photo shoot ready. Not gonna lie, the photo’s we got from doing this are actually some of my favourites from the entire day!

161918

That’s all folks, I’ll keep exploring and posting my adventures for all to see.

Love, Luce ♥

Leave a Reply

