Thirteen Years.

“True friendship resists time, distance, and silence” – Isabel Allende

Someone once told me that a true friendship will never end, you may go your separate ways, but you will always find your back in the end. I never really believed this until recently. For those that don’t know I have recently packed up my whole life and moved to the complete opposite side of the world; Australia. It was time for a fresh start, time to get away, and time to try and find me again.

Twenty Sixteen was a tough year and I feel like most people will be glad when it’s over.

Obviously in true fashion of the twenty-first century, as soon as my trip was all booked i broadcasted it to the world of Facebook. Now, of course you get the ‘fake friends’ that message you deciding that they just must see you before you leave. The genuine friends that are actually excited for you, but sad that you’re leaving them behind. And then the long lost friends that are intrigued to know how you did it and want to get in touch.

Well, were going to be talking about the latter…the long lost friends.

Shortly after posting this status an old friend got in touch asking how I did it as she was intrigued to do something similar…we got talking, and she decided to book a similar trip to arrive in Melbourne a month after me. Now this wasn’t just any old friend, this was my best friend from primary school. A girl I hadn’t seen, or barely spoken to for that matter in over thirteen years!

It’s now been around two months since arriving in Melbourne, and she recently got in touch again and we agreed to meet for a coffee. Somehow I ended up getting lost and a 15 minute tram turned into a 3 1/2 hour walk, but I eventually made it to her in time for a late lunch and we sat and chatted for hours. It felt like we had never been apart, like the two eleven year old girls we were the last time we were together.

It’s so nice to rekindle old friendships, especially thirteen years later as adults reminiscing on the times we shared aged four to twelve.

Love, Luce ♥

Leave a Reply

