Great Ocean Road // 26.11.16

“True friendship isn’t about being inseparable, it’s about being separated and nothing changes” – Unknown.

6.jpgBefore I came to Australia one of the few things I knew I really wanted to do was the Great Ocean Road. However, I didn’t want to just jump on a tour bus and let a guide do all the talking…I wanted to go with friends, on a road trip, on an adventure.

Jen and Rach have been two of my best friends since 2011 when we met at a summer camp in America. It had been five years since I’d seen Jen, and four years since Rach, so when they both happened to be in Melbourne the same weekend as I was, we knew we had to make this trip happen.

4Since arriving in Australia this is the first time I’ve been to any ‘proper’ beaches. It actually felt quite homely being by the sea again…growing up by the beach, no matter where in the world you are, if you’re near the sea, it feels like home. I love the sound of the ocean, the smell of the sea breeze, and the salt in the air. Although it was absolutely freezing, we ran around, took some silly photos and enjoyed the fresh air.

23We left super early in the morning so we could make the most of the day and make multiple trips along the way. The above photos were taken in Torquay, and the upcoming ones were in Lorne and Apollo Bay, before making it all the way to the Twelve Apostles.

15Of course we had to attempt to get a picture with the iconic Great Ocean Road sign. Trying to time a jump in the smallest timeframe where no cars were in the back of the photo was a massive fail…this was the best shot we could get – HA! Better than nothing though ay?

10I am a huge fan of my polaroid camera and aim to try and take a photo on any adventure so I can secure it in my scrapbook and look back at the memories in years to come. I always aim to take a photo of the polaroid in the location as I love the effect it has, and if for some reason I ever lose the polaroid, I’ve always got a copy of it!

1213.jpgThe main aim of our trip was to make it to the Twelve Apostles, and I’m not going to lie at times I didn’t think we would ever make it…it’s soo far from Melbourne! I’m so glad we made it that far and got to see the apostles. Although it’s a long drive it is 100% worth it!

9Once we’d reached the apostles, the water was so clear and blue! The beaches surrounding the Apostles are protected so the public cannot access this area. However, I am actually super happy that they’ve done this here as it has really preserved the area. There’s no litter, no damage, just fresh sand, and smooth waves.

78We aimed to take a few quick snaps once we’d made it to the Apostles, however in true Melbourne style the heavens opened, so we ran for cover. I could honestly have stood and stared at these rocks for ages, they are so unique and there is so much detail to see. Each rock is one of a kind, and there are plenty of information boards around telling you about the history of the Apostles.

14When editing photos I found this adorable shot of Jen that she must have taken while Rach and I were galavanting around on the rocks. I think she looks amazing in it, such a natural shot!

11I had the best adventure with these girls, and I’m so glad we managed to make it happen. Hopefully it won’t be another five years before we adventure together again.

The Great Ocean Road is definitely a place I would love to return to if I ever get the opportunity.

Love, Luce ♥

Leave a Reply

